Recap of my 65th Birthday Bash

You only become 65 once so go big.

The first two weeks of 2024 were supposed to be about Laura’s Big 65th Birthday Bash. The whole world was going to come. I was going to send out an email announcement and have everyone text me on the biggest challenge day.

But none of that happened. I just quietly went about completing my plans and feeling the experience.

First, due to my shiny new Medicare Advantage plan, I joined Silver Sneakers. Then I took my Silver Sneakers membership and got a free membership at a local gym. I plan to use the weight machines and the stair climber at the gym. But the gym I joined also had a 50-yard pool with no one in it. I hadn’t been swimming in decades and didn’t even own a swimsuit, but I was intrigued by that pool.

Step two: Runners traditionally do a run equal to their age on their birthday. But, a 65-mile run is a bit too long for me. So I wracked my brain for a fun challenge. Through a series of serendipitous events, I discovered that runDisney had a virtual Dopey Challenge. A Dopey Challenge is 4 days comprised of a 5k (3.1 miles) run, a 10k (6.2 miles) run, a half marathon (13.1 miles), and a full marathon (26.2 miles). And Disney is particularly known for awesome swag. I mean, well-designed pretty shirts and shiny cool medals. By signing up for the virtual challenge, I could get the swag without going to Florida.

The marathon was the hard part of step two. Marathons are difficult at in-person races. Running 26.2 miles by yourself is harder. The left side of my brain spent its time trying to cheat. I noticed this. Some greater part of my consciousness was helping me do all the miles. First, I did a 10-mile lap, returning home for a pit stop. That was easy. Then I went out again. At mile 16, I was near a porta-potty (in a construction area). I used that so I wouldn’t have to go all the way home again. Then, my consciousness kept me doing various roads so I wouldn’t get near my house until near the end. I got to the entrance of my complex with 25 miles completed. My consciousness pushed me to run around the outside of the complex to get that last 1.3 miles. 26.3 miles done.

I’m really pleased with myself that I did this. My feet did not hurt that bad, or anything else for that matter. The motivation was amazing to experience. And that feeling is the main point of my doing this.

Bonus round: I just learned this morning that swimming is hard work. I did 10 laps of the 50-yard pool. I haven’t been swimming in decades. I just jumped in, pushed off the wall, and started doing freestyle. Yes, I could do it. Like riding a bike, your body remembers how to swim. Out and back, stop to catch my breath, repeat. It felt more anaerobic than I have felt for a while. Getting out of the pool, I noticed that my body was nearly quivering, muscles jellied. I’m excited about this new opportunity I have.

Step three: I wanted to run an in-person half marathon the day after my birthday to enjoy my new age group. Alas, due to snow and extreme cold, I’ll be doing another virtual race. Bummer!

So, that is my big birthday bash. It means something to the interior of me and possibly to my higher consciousness.

My city is about to get lots of snow and be near zero degrees. It officially cross-training season.

Dopey medals:

I have a wall in my weight room with tshirts from the 2020 election. I plan to take those down and put up my 6 Disney shirts and medals. A huge improvement over 2020.

Leave a Comment